Advent #1 & #2

1 Dec

For Christmas a few years ago, I copied my friend Rachel’s idea of making an advent calendar. She had made a beautiful one for her niece, Grace, out of decorated matchboxes. I loved the idea, and wanted to make one for Him.

Patience, however, is not one of my strong suits, and while I followed through with the project, it didn’t turn out nearly as awesome and well-executed as Rachel’s. Regardless, it was done.

I carried around a matchbox in my purse that entire holiday season, buying only gifts that could fit inside. The next year, I decided that He and I should alternate days. He outsmarted my by writing tiny notes in his boxes, leading me on treasure hunts across the apartment. It was a lot of fun, and a great way to start every morning in December!

We’ve decided to start the advent again, trading for each other.

This morning marked His Day 1 (I always like to end up with a gift on the 24th). I’d been teasing Him all November, telling Him we’re getting a Christmas tree December 1st. Well, He got one all right. Straight from Ikea!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s not much, but we’ll improve upon it, we promise.

Because of our big holiday party tomorrow night, He allowed me to open my advent today – Day 2. Unbeknownst to me, He had installed Diablo II for Mac on my computer… amazing. I’m a big computer game nerd and I love Diablo. I bought my own only about two years ago for my own laptop after Dad told my again I could not have his copy. Then I got a Mac and my dreams were crushed.

I’m ecstatic at the thoughtfulness of this gift, and as a matter of fact, am headed to kill some skeletons and bad guys right about – now.

Leave a Reply

