Alcoholic Air Miles 3 – Gray Fox 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon

7 Jan

Alright you drunks. Get set for another edition of Alcoholic Air Miles!

This time He’s getting a little bit classier in his reviews. Honestly, I can’t believe I’m reviewing a Cabernet Sauvignon! It’s so suave. So debonair.  Well, except for the fact that it was one of the cheapest bottles in the shop…Anyways! On to the review the the Gray Fox 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon!

California’s prodigal son, Gray Fox, really does it this time. Let’s be serious, $7.95* for a palatable cab-sauv and 5 bonus air miles? Eureka!** Palatable really is a subjective. I mean, just because I can drink this swill and somewhat enjoy it makes it palatable to me. To someone with a more refined palate***, this shit is probably nasty as hell. I’m not a fan of vinegar on my fish and chips, but this wine might go best with some of Deluxe’s(basically an east coast Canadian version of Long John Silvers) finest .

*-Aside: I just noticed that the winery is selling this bottle for twice as much on their Geocities site.  Just ridiculous!

**-What is the state motto of California? I’ll take miscellaneous trivia for $400, Alex.

***-Using 3 derivations of “palate” in one paragraph? You’re crazy for this palate, Him!

All in all, it’s decent.  And when you’re getting almost 1 air mile per dollar, I’d buy pretty much any wine that the LCBO sells.  But for some reason, I really thought this wine was from Germany for the longest time.  Not sure how that came to be in my knoggin’.  Isn’t it weird that Germany produces wine?  I’ve never been there, but it really doesn’t strike me as the type of climate in which grapes grow on trees… or vines.  Regardless, those from the Black Forest probably think the same thing when they pick up a bottle of Southern Ontario red from their local liquor store.  And they probably aren’t getting 5 bonus air miles with their purchase…

Anyways, I’m almost done the bottle, so tune in next time when I try use palate in a blog post more than five six times!

Cost $7.95
Bonus Air miles 5
ML 750
Airmiles/$ 0.63
ML/$ 94.34
One Response to “Alcoholic Air Miles 3 – Gray Fox 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Alcoholic Air Miles 4 – Kronenbourg 1664 « hishersandtheirs - January 13, 2011

    […] moving from a wine that I thought was from Germany to a beer that thinks it is!  Yes, yes.  French beer has that little… je ne sais quoi.  As […]

Leave a Reply

