My Quest To Eat Ketchup

10 Feb

Rarely has an article spoken to me so profoundly, so truthfully, as the recent article in the Toronto Star by reporter Katie Daubs: “Picky Eating Is Something I’ve Never Outgrown

Oh baby does this speak volumes to me.

I am a picky eater extraordinaire. I’ve become much better in the past few years, but there are still some key food elements that I refuse to even try; namely mayonnaise, ketchup, relish, mustard – mostly condiments.

There are other foods I will try, but just know I won’t like; many vegetables, hot sauce, sunny side up eggs, mushrooms.

The article by Daub hits the nail right on the head though. It sucks to be a picky eater. It’s stressful, it’s not fun, and sometimes it means going without dinner.

I remember when I was little, a friend invited me over for dinner, telling me we were having pasta. Well, pasta is a yellow-white coloured food, so as the article shows, I absolutely love it. I was pumped. But we weren’t eating the nice wholesome plain coloured pasta – we were having that weird pasta where some are white, some are green, and some are red. With tomatoe juice to drink. I wanted to barf and it was super embarrassing. Even now, when a friend invites me somewhere new, or worse, when I’m lunching at work with co-workers or clients, I get incredibly stressed out.

Most people think it’s just being picky, finicky, or snobby, but it’s way more than that. Trust me, I would love to be able to eat anything put in front of me, but I just can’t. He likes to say it’s not that I “can’t,” but that I “won’t” – but trust me, some foods, I will do anything to get out of eating them.

It was really nice reading this article actually – Daub even says that she eats out of four “food groups” – chicken, bread, cheese and potatoes. Man, if you opened up chicken to other meat, and threw in pasta, that is pretty much my daily diet!

However, I am trying to improve, and I think I’m doing pretty good. In the past few years, with some help from my Aunt Al and Him, I’ve opened myself up to the following:

  • Salads (no dressing, no tomatoes)
  • Shrimp
  • Salmon
  • Sausages
  • Bread dipper

Big steps, I know!

Leave a Reply

