Dining in the Dark – SCARY OR NOT SCARY?

14 Mar

Welcome to dining in the dark my friends. Also – I can’t take credit for this kind-of-joke – it was the image used in an article about the restaurant O. Noir – I just think it’s too good to pass up.

Okay – where to start?

If you’re an avid follower, you’ll know that we’ve been following Toronto Star reporter Katie Daubs articles on picky eating – there’s three so far I think – here, here and here. Interesting stuff. As a picky eater myself, it’s always extremely reassuring to find out that there are other people out there who have the same hang-ups I do. I won’t go too much into it, because I think Katie does a better job than me, but seriously, if you’ve ever wondered why people are picky eaters, or if you hate us even, I think they’re worth a read.

Anyway, I pointed out these articles to my co-worker Michelle and her first thought was that we should go for dinner with Katie. Michelle is not a picky eater in any way, and she’s always harping on me to try new foods.

So, we did.

We went to O. Noir with the idea that maybe if we can’t see our food, it won’t taste so disgusting and we’ll be able to eat it. The conversation all night surrounded food – we hardly even discussed that we were eating in the dark. He and I had been to the restaurant once before, so it wasn’t as new to us, but still, it’s always a cool experience. The waiters are blind, so your experience is supposed to be similar to that sensation.

I don’t want to write too  much here since Katie will be dissecting our evening and even though I think the Toronto Star has more readers than our blog (maybe?), she should have the first coverage for sure. I can’t wait to see what she writes actually – really looking forward to the article coming out!

I apologize, this post was a bit all over the place – I think I’m having flashbacks to eating disgusting salad dressing and becoming nauseous. I’d better lay down.

Leave a Reply

