Meet Our Friends: Jim Robinson

26 Mar

Jim Jim Jim – what’s there to say? The man is funny. I met Jim while working on Queen’s Players in my second show. Then he directed me, I directed him, and now he’s totally famous.

Yes, that is really a giant billboard for Rickard's, and yes, that is really Jim. It was at Yonge-Eglinton awhile ago.

Jim (@RimJobinson) hosts BeerProv every so often at Comedy Bar down at Bloor and Ossington. It’s a totally fun show, and he even let me give it a shot last week – it was a complete blast. I got drunk and told someone to go buy a pitcher on my Visa card. The jokes on them though – I don’t have any money.

In our new installment, we’re profiling some of friends so you can have the chance to meet them, love them, and throw them away, just like us.

1. Who do you like more? Him or Her?

Her, Shannon. Based purely on the fact that I have known her longer. Does that mean she is a better person than Liam? Clearly not. Shannon Mitchell is a brute, a loud mouth, a cheat and a sleaze. But I have known her longer. I respect my relationship with the space-time continuum.

2. What has been your favorite experience in Toronto?

Being able to take part in a number of shows that are associated with the Second City has been a tremendous experience for me.

3. If you don’t want your future kids to know one thing about you, what would it be?

A whole bunch of things, I’m sure. But since the internet will be even more powerful when they’re growing up, I will refrain from publishing that information on the information superhighway.

4. What song do you want played at your funeral?

Either “Enter Sandman” by Metallica or “Dancing Queen” by Abba. I’d leave it up to the people in charge of the service. Who knows what the mood will be like at my funeral…

5. If you could jump into anything, what would you jump into?

A nice suit.

 

And there you have it ladies and germs – Jim Robinson. He’s a stand-up guy who does stand-up. Go see his next show – we’ll let you know when it’s happening, we promise. And hey, buy the kid a gin, too.

One Response to “Meet Our Friends: Jim Robinson”

  1. Laura March 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    OMG! I totally thought this was Jim when I saw it! Crazy!

Leave a Reply

