Before The Job Becomes A Job

2 Apr

Sometimes at work you feel like… you know, it’s work. You want to go home, you’re tired of clocking hours, and all you want to think about is maybe a delicious dinner, a cold beer, and tv downloads waiting for you at home.

However, if you’re like me, you actually love your job. But I mean, everyone gets those days, am I right? So I’ve decided to create a list of the top 10 things I love about my job to look at anytime I feel like 5 o’clock (or 8’clock) can’t come soon enough:

1) Beer Cart (and gummy bear, chip, chocolate, wine cart) every Friday afternoon

2) My co-worker, Michelle, and all her great ideas that make my time between 8:45 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. so special

3) Heck, scratch that, all my co-workers are pretty awesome

4) Hot chocolate in the morning that is always super good

5) Our production department: it has a machine that will stamp letters for you!

6) Our Marcomms room that Alice stocks with cashews, chocolate-covered digestive cookies and Nature Valley Crunch bars

7) Working with a bunch of girls (and Miguel) where your afternoon discussions can range from clothes, shoes, and birth control pills to stalking, hairdressers, and flooded basements

8 ) Working for clients I like and projects that are really, really cool

9) Going to concerts, discussing male celebrities and going grocery shopping – and getting paid for it

10) Having one

I really do love my job. There are days, and moments, sure, when I feel burnt out, but every morning without fail, I’m still excited to come into work. I think that’s the true sign of a job you love. It might not be amazing all the time, but really, the only job that’s like that is pizza tester, and I don’t think that would pay very well. But if the morning after a day when a client isn’t pleased, you made a huge mistake, or you don’t feel up to snuff, you still want to go into the office? You’re alright.

Leave a Reply

