Review: Hanna

21 Apr

Before I saw the trailer for this movie, I had heard good things. I was therefore really excited to find out that Turn The Record Over was having a contest with the prize being none other than this soundtrack on vinyl. Man – it couldn’t get sweet. I’d heard the Chemical Brothers rocked this one and we’re trying to expand our vinyl collection. Amazingly, I won!

It came in the mail on Friday; the perfect start to the weekend. I put it on to play while I started making dinner and it provided a great soundtrack. All the tracks are pretty mellow in that they’re instrumental, but some can be pretty intense. I thought that it would be make cool dinner party music – a bit out of the norm and a good conversation starter, but nothing that would overpower the conversation, you know?

I think the best part about the record came to me by surprise, and that was when I actually opened it up. Our parents got to experience this all the time, but it hit me that I’d never actually opened a new record. Used, borrowed, given to me by my parents… but never new. I can now totally see the appeal that came with getting a new record and taking it home, lighting up a candle/incense/what have you and vibing to it. It was neat to take it out of the paper and I’m justing saying, if you’ve never opened a new record… it’s a cool sensation that can’t be beat by cracking open an mp3.

Anyway, I was super pleased. I still have to listen to it a lot more to get a good feel for the songs, but I like what I’m hearing so far, and He was equally digging it.

Here’s the trailer to Hanna – if you’ve seen it, let us know what you think!

2 Responses to “Review: Hanna”

  1. Cort K April 21, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Your man is very lucky to have you! Most girls that I know don’t listen to vinyl your in my dreams girl and hopefully I can talk to you in heaven!

Leave a Reply

