Hockey Time In Canada

27 Apr

 

I can’t believe the first round of hockey is almost over and we haven’t mentioned the Playoffs! Man, we are terrible hockey fans. Actually, it’s just Him that’s a terrible hockey fan. Yup – he doesn’t even dig it. It’s all “soccer this” and “Cleveland Browns that.” I’m the hockey fan in the house. And these boys are my babies:

Mike Komisarek #8 of the Montreal Canadiens celebrates his goal against the Boston Bruins with teammates Christopher Higgins #21, Saku Koivu #11 and Andrei Markov #79 during Game Seven of the 2008 NHL Eastern Conference Quarterfinals at the Bell Centre April 21, 2008 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

I’m a huge Montreal fan. In fact, I used to think I was born in Montreal, because we loved them so much at home. To my disapointment, I wasn’t.

I grew up loving Montreal – Patrick Roy was my best friend. At one point in time, I could list almost every single player on the Montreal Canadiens ’92-’93 team. But alas, I grew up, and discovered I was a girl, so you know, I played with Barbies and shiz.

Anyway, my family has always done a hockey pool. None of the fancy player picking kind of stuff – just straight up brackets.  Here are our picks:

Him:
Detroit Red Wings over Phoenix Coyotes

San José Sharks over Los Angeles Kings
Vancouver Canucks over Chicago Blackhawks
Nashville Predators over Anaheim Ducks
Boston Bruins over Montreal Canadiens (blasphemy)
Philadelphia Flyers over Buffalo Sabres
Pittsburgh Penguins over Tampa Bay Lightning
Washington Capitals over New York Rangers

Her:
Detroit Red Wings over Phoenix Coyotes

San José Sharks over Los Angeles Kings
Vancouver Canucks over Chicago Blackhawks
Anaheim Ducks over Nashville Predators
Montreal Canadiens over Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres over Philadelphia Flyers
Tampa Bay Lightning over Pittsburgh Penguins
Washington Capitals over New York Rangers

I am so, so thrilled Montreal won last night. Seriously, that game was so intense! I have never seen hockey players skate that fast. I even stayed late at work so I could watch part of the game on TV, since we don’t have cable. Oh man though, my heart was in my throat. I bet heart attacks increase in frequency during the playoffs. Maybe He could do an economics study on it or something.

I’m really nervous for tonight. If you have a TV and want to invite me over for the game, just let me know – otherwise, follow my sporadic and nerve-wracked tweets – @shann_mitchell – and don’t forget to hashtag! #gohabsgo.

Him & Her want to know – who do you think will win in the game tonight?

One Response to “Hockey Time In Canada”

  1. Him & Her April 27, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    (Him) Vancouver won last night and took the series in 7 games. Her needs to update this post!

Leave a Reply

