A Steamy Steam Whistle Adventure

30 Apr

Congratulations to me! Yesterday I found out that I won a contest on The Indie Machine and totally won a Steam Whistle prize pack. It was awesome. I signed up for the contest in early April, so I had totally forgotten about it when they emailed me.

That’s how He and I found ourselves heading down to the brewery last night for our special tour. I also won this sweet prize pack below:

The tour itself was great. Both He and I had already had the tour twice, but it’s still interesting because the different tour guides tell you different facts about the beer, the brewery, and the owners. If you haven’t been on the tour and are in the Toronto area, it’s definitely worth checking out. Plus, you get a beer – oh yeahhhhh. Spoiler Alert – keep your eyes peeeeeeled, ‘cus this week we’re having a contest where you can win your very own Steam Whistle tour prize pack! Whoop whoop! 

One of my favorite parts of Steam Whistle that I haven’t experienced on the other tours I’ve been on, is their photobooth. You take a beer in, the camera snaps, and you chug like an animal. However, cans don’t work too well:

As part of the prize pack, we also got to hang around for the Unsigned Series show. On Friday night’s, they will sometimes have bands down to the brewery to play. You pay $5 and get to see three (usually) awesome bands, and drink some beer – it’s not a bad deal. Two of our friends who work at the brewery were also around that night, so it was nice to see them as well.

The bands playing tonight were Freedom or Death, The Darcy’s, and Wildlife. Having not really heard of any of these bands before (at least me), I was excited to check them out. I spent the afternoon at work listening to Wildlife on headphones, and I was really into their sound. I listened to The Darcys while getting ready, and they were… okay.

Freedom or Death opened the show, and He was into them. I was not. Nothing against the band, just not my preference of music. The crowd seemed to really be digging them though – I was surprised at how many people came out, it was a really decent sized crowd. The Darcys were next, and they were pretty good. We didn’t end up staying for Wildlife, but they were the band we were both most eager to see. Oh well, we’ll always have their Myspace.

If we hadn’t won the prize pack though, we would have been at the Free Whiskey show at the Silver Dollar, which is hopefully where you were if you weren’t at Steamy Steamwhistle. I cannot stress how awesome this band is, and not just because they’re friends of ours. Keep an eye on their tour page and go see them when they come to Toronto again – in fact, we’ll go with you and make a date out of it. They’re playing TO May 28th and June 5th – so go! go! go!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Responses to “A Steamy Steam Whistle Adventure”

  1. pricemeister April 30, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Glad to see you had a good time!

    I’ve actually got a photo booth shot from one of the first Unsigned shows at the brewery up on my fridge – I usually have a blast when I’m down there 🙂

    • Him & Her April 30, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      We had a great time! Thanks for the contest – even though we’ve been to Steam Whistle before, we’ve never gone to the Unsigned Series, and it was great.

      That photobooth is a brainchild for sure – I need to work on my chugging skills though. Lesson One – Don’t use a can.

      • pricemeister April 30, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

        you clearly didn’t mash a hole in the bottom to change the air intake and hold it over your head….

        😉

      • Him & Her April 30, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

        Actually, I thought the “3 minutes” sign that referred to how long the photo takes to develop, actually referred to the length of time you spend inside the booth, therefore didn’t think I’d need to shotgun. I’m now older, wiser, and will be a bit more drunk after the next photobooth attempt…

  2. pricemeister May 1, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    *thumbs up*

    😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tunes For The Week: Indoor Music « hishersandtheirs - May 2, 2011

    […] weekend I surprisingly did not listen to a lot of music, unless you count the Steam Whistle Unsigned show we went to Friday night. Therefore, I’m kind of lacking a theme here for the weekly […]

  2. Music at Work: Freedom or Death « hishersandtheirs - May 6, 2011

    […] and her went to the Steam Whistle unsigned show last Friday. The two bands who we saw were both good, in my opinion, and the venue is pretty historic.  The […]

Leave a Reply

